Thanksgiving 2010 – I Will Never Make Another Green Bean Casserole

Today was mine and my boyfriend’s vegan Thanksgiving. For the past three years, I’ve made my Thanksgiving meal the day before the holiday. Not only is it less stressful during the cooking process (in that my mom is cooking a completely separate meal the next day – too many cooks in the kitchen is an understatement), it leaves the actual holiday open to actually enjoy, and I get to eat leftovers. I’m also not stuck cleaning and washing dishes up until it’s time to leave for Black Friday shopping 😀 This year’s menu:

Tofurky
Homemade Gravy
Homemade Cranberry Sauce
Mashed Sweet Potatoes
Green Beans with Creamy Mushroom Sauce
Dressing Muffins
Macaroni and “Cheese”
Deviled Tofu
Sticky Pumpkin Cake
Apple Cider

As usual, I didn’t deviate much from previous years. But there was one big thing I changed this year: The Green Bean Casserole. Well, I didn’t really change it, nor did I make up the recipe I used for my green beans this year. I actually made the one I’ve made the past few years for my boyfriend because he just kept talking about “tradition” when I told him about how I didn’t want to make a green bean casserole this year. I tried to explain to him that I’m still young, and that the food I make traditionally for each holiday is still up in the air. But he didn’t understand.. haha.

For now I’m just going to post pictures, because it’s my  bedtime and I’m tired. I’ll post pictures of everything individually tomorrow, along with recipes!

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving tomorrow!

– Andrea

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

