Harvest and Holiday Market

Yesterday morning, I got out to pick up some veggies at the Pepper Place Harvest and Holiday Market. Yesterday also happened to be mine and my boyfriend’s six-year anniversary. And I was still kind of thinking of what to make for our anniversary dinner all the while I was shopping. I knew I wanted to make Harry Potter-themed food, since we had planned to start re-watching the first six movies last night. I knew I wanted Butterbeer, a shepherd’s pie, and pumpkin pasties. But, other than that, I was just going to find something while I was out.

I had been meaning to visit the market when it started last month – this is the first year since I’ve known about Pepper Place that they’ve extended it into the autumn and winter months. But yesterday was the first Saturday I managed to go. I had been craving kale so badly the past few weeks, so I was planning on getting that while I was there. I figured I could saute some and call it Gillyweed 😀 Then I found some beautiful beets. I’ve only had beets a handful of times, but I decided to pick some up because they were just too pretty to leave there. I also purchased a head of lettuce for a Herbology salad.

My market purchases.

Head of lettuce, two bags of kale.

Aren’t they beautiful?!

I got a bunch of golden beets, as well as a bunch of candy cane beets, I think they’re called. When I say I’ve had beets a handful of times, I mean I’ve had the regular, old, red beets. I’ve never had either of these varieties. So I was pretty excited about trying them! I’m going to have to find a recipe for the beet greens, because I’ve never cooked them before and these are just too pretty to let go to waste! I think I might just saute them with garlic, salt, and pepper.

Good grief, I love non-fussy food!

– Andrea

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Harvest and Holiday Market”

  1. Mo Says:

    Such beautiful produce!

Leave a Reply

