Happy First Day of Autumn, 2010!

I’ve been a bit confused over the last few days about when the first day of Autumn was supposed to be this year. Someone said it was on Tuesday, then there were people wishing everyone a happy autumn yesterday.

HOLD THE PHONE!

All of my calendars said the autumnal equinox was today! So, screw everyone else’s calendars. I have a cute, Gil Elvgren, pin-up calendar. And it most certainly is not wrong. So I went with today as the first day of autumn 🙂

So, happy, happy Autumn, everyone!

I made Pumpkin Pot Pies! Well, I actually only made one. This one:

I don’t really have a recipe, because I cut the original into 1/3, and then it only filled up one pumpkin instead of two.  And the veganization of it didn’t really turn out the way I had planned. So, basically:

Cut the top off of a sugar pumpkin. Scoop out the seeds (save for roasting!) and pumpkin guts. Sprinkle salt and pepper on the inside of the pumpkin and cover with aluminum foil. Bake at 375 degrees for 25-30 minutes, until soft when poked with a fork. Then add your favorite pot pie filling. Use your favorite crust (I used this one) and some small, autumn leaf cookie cutters to create leaves. Use a toothpick to create a crease (you can obviously be more detailed with this) and lay them around the rim of the pumpkin. (You could also create a full crust on top of the filling using the leaves.) Bring oven temperature down to 350 degrees and bake the pot pie for another 30 minutes.

I added a lot of hot sauce to mine, because my awesome boyfriend brought me some today! 🙂 It was much better after that.

I would definitely do this again with a better pot pie filling. I shouldn’t have tried to veganize the original recipe, since I have my own favorite filling. But I’ll know better next time!

I hope everyone had a good start to autumn today! Even if it was 95 degrees!

– Andrea

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Happy First Day of Autumn, 2010!”

  1. Jenelle Says:

    Would you mind sharing your favorite filling recipe?

    • Andrea Says:

      I basically just make a gravy using a roux and add either vegetable broth or no-chicken broth + a little soy sauce for color. If it’s not thick enough, I add a cornstarch slurry. Then I add whatever vegetables I have on hand – usually carrots, green peas, green beans, mushrooms, and corn. All but the mushrooms I’ll usually use frozen because it’s quicker and I don’t have to worry about how long it takes each individual veg. to cook. I’ve never really found a recipe for a filling that I like using. I usually just make it up each time I make a pot pie so that I can try different things and see what I like. Sometimes I’ll add baked tofu that’s been seasoned with poultry seasoning.

  2. sara Says:

    that pot pie looks almost too adorable to eat! i love the little autumn leaf cut-outs. what a great meal to welcome fall.

  3. Mo Says:

    How creative! Looks great! I’m getting super excited that pumpkin season is here.

Leave a Reply

