$20 Worth of Apples (Take 1) – Apple Cake!

So, last Thursday, I bought a lot of apples for a photoshoot I was doing. I actually didn’t really need that many, but I thought I better be safe than sorry. I didn’t weigh the apples before I went to the register to pay for them. Turns out, I had grabbed $20 worth of apples. Too late to turn back, I sucked it up and handed over the cash.

Upon leaving the grocery store, I thought to myself, “Well, at least they’re edible props.”

So I came up with a bunch of ways I’d like to use the apples – the first being an apple cake! For most recipes, I usually turn to MarthaStewart.com for a basic recipe. This instance was no different, as I found this recipe for John’s Three-Layer Apple Cake. I didn’t do a three-layer cake, because I didn’t feel like it. *shrugs* I’m not trying to be fancy here, I’m trying to use up some apples. So I baked mine in a 13×9 inch baking dish.

Vegan Apple Cake

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted margarine, melted, plus more for pans
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled), plus more for pans
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups packed light-brown sugar
  • Egg replacement for 2 eggs (I used Ener-G Egg Replacer)
  • 4 Granny Smith apples, peeled, two coarsely grated (squeeze out excess moisture) and two diced
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. “Butter” a 13×9 inch baking dish with margarine, then flour the bottom and sides (tapping out excess); set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, and salt; set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together margarine, sugar, and egg replacements until well combined; fold in grated and diced apples. Add flour mixture; mix just until combined. Pour batter into prepared pan; smooth top.
  3. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes. Cool cake in pan, 20 minutes. You can leave the cake in the pan, or you can invert it onto a wire rack to finish letting it cool and then transfer it onto a pretty serving platter.

I frosted mine with a (v) cream cheese frosting but, honestly, I wish I hadn’t. The cake is amazing as it is, and would have been much better with just a dusting of powdered sugar. Probably would have been a bit prettier, too.

The cake reminded me of carrot cake, in both taste and texture. It was really moist and, instead of carrots, had nice chunks of apple all in it. I’d definitely make the cake again, sans frosting!

First day of autumn is only two days away! And I’m going to the pumpkin patch on Monday 🙂 I need to make a spooky meal plan for the next week..

– Andrea

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “$20 Worth of Apples (Take 1) – Apple Cake!”

  1. Sarahfae Says:

    Oh man. Ohhhh mannn….
    XO

  2. Lacey Says:

    YUM! I made Apple Pie Cupcakes from 500 vegan recipes this weekend. SO AMAZING.

  3. LBs Sewing Sanity Says:

    Ohhh La La, I’ll need to try this one. Thanks for sharing!

  4. C Says:

    Oh, that looks so good. I need to make that! Thanks for the tip with the Martha Stewart website. I’ve found a delicious recipe for Coconut-Pumpkin Stew that I made tonight. 🙂

  5. Mo Says:

    The cake sounds awesome and I love the way the frosting looks like it’s defying gravity!

Leave a Reply

