Christmas Morning Breakfast (2008)

Christmas is a special day.. Because Christmas is the only day of the year I make cinnamon rolls! After opening presents at 5 am, there’s not really much else left to do that early other than make a huge breakfast, watch the sun come up, and enjoy the rest of the holiday. So that’s what I do.

Last year’s Christmas morning breakfast consisted of The following:

"Sausage" and "Cheese" Biscuits

I used this recipe for the biscuits, Gimme Lean “sausage”, and Toffuti American “cheese”

Scrambled Tofu

Scrambled Tofu

Recipe adapted from Vegan with a Vegeance.

Cheesy Hashbrowns

Shredded potatoes, fried in a skillet with shredded Follow Your Heart cheddar, salt, and pepper.

Cinnamon Rolls

I’ve used this recipe for the past few years, and it gets better every time! There are some other awesome-sounding recipes that would be great for holidays on her blog, so check it out! 😀

__________________________________________

This year I’m thinking about letting go of the cinnamon rolls. I really want to make gingerbread muffins. And if I make muffins, I don’t want to make cinnamon rolls. So I’m trying to figure out what to do. Knowing me, I’ll probably end up making both.. So I don’t know what I’m trying to decide on one for.

I’m also thinking about doing “ham” and “cheese” biscuits this year. Or maybe I’ll have both “ham” and “sausage”. Eh.. I just don’t know I’m still thinking about it.

But there will be scrambled tofu!

I’ve also decided to forget about the hot cocoa mix for my gift baskets. Now I’m debating on wheter or not to include a pancake mix. I’m also debating between regular pancake mix and  gingerbread pancake mix. But I’m already making Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies. So it might be weird to include two gingerbread items.

Do I put too much thought into this?

Oh well. Tomorrow is the big day for cooking! I’m making peanut brittle, chocolate truffles, and the chocolate gingerbread cookies. I kind of want to make sugar cookies, but I’m not sure if I will. Only time will tell.

__________________________________________

I am going to have a ridiculously hectic holiday this year. On Christmas Eve, I’m going to my grandmother’s at 10:30 in the morning for our holiday party. Around 12:00, I have to leave for work. I’ll probably be there until 7:00, and then I’ll be stopping by Jon’s mom’s house for their Christmas party. Hopefully I’ll be on my way home by 8:30 and can spend some time with my mom before getting into bed.

On Christmas Day, I’ll be getting up at 4 or 5 AM to see what Santa brought me. After I open my presents, I’ll be starting on breakfast. Jon will probably be here around 6:30 or so. Breakfast will be around 8:00. Around 12:00, I’ll be going to Jon’s house so that I can go with him and his dad to their family Christmas party, about an hour away. Then I’ll probably be home around 6:00.

Ridiculous.

At least I get to sleep in the next day!

I hope you all have wonderful holidays 🙂

– Andrea

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Christmas Morning Breakfast (2008)”

  1. Mo Says:

    Wow. That is an awesome Christmas breakfast. I hope your holidays went well!

Leave a Reply

