Decking the Halls + Waking to a Winter Wonderland

Last night I finally got out my Christmas onrmants and decorations to accompany my lonely tree. My cats seemed very interested in the tree once it was lit up. They all took turns rubbing their faces on it and sitting underneath it, on the tree skirt. It was adorable, as you can see 🙂

Christmas Kitty

I don’t like “pretty” Christmas trees. I like fun, happy, sentimental trees. So my Christmas ornaments consist of cartoon and movie characters, as well as ornaments made by me as a child. I also throw in some red, gold, and green balls to fill in the empty space. I watched How the Grinch Stole Christmas (live action) while I decorated the tree.

Christmas ornaments

After I decorated my tree, I layed down on the couch and listened to Christmas music for about an hour. Then I went to bed and paged through an awesome book I checked out from the library earlier that day called The Spirit of Christmas: Gifts from the Kitchen.

This isn’t a vegan cookbook, but there are so many awesome ideas! I normally give out tins of the same cookies and candies, with some variation from year to year. But this year I wanted to do something different. I wanted to make little gift baskets filled with the best of the best cookies, along with some truffles and other chocolate candies. I also wanted to include small bags of homemade peanut brittle, and some hot chocolate mix. I’m also considering small loaves of holiday breads and/or dry soup mixes. I obviously won’t have the time or money to do all of these things, but that’s what I’m considering. I’m trying to narrow everything down right now.

After I woke up this morning, I watch Sandra Lee’s Semi-Homemade Holiday special on the Food Network.  She had some really cute packaging ideas for homemade food gifts.

When I finally walked out of my room, I was shocked to see that it had snowed during the night!

Peeking outside the window!

So I put on a jacket and some fuzzy slippers and went outside to take pictures of the pretty snow!

Looking down the street.

It normally doesn’t snow in Alabama until at least January. So it was nice to wake up to a winter wonderland this close to Christmas!

Holly berries.

I’m trying to work on my Christmas acitvity calendar right now, so I’m going to get back to that!

Happy Holiday!

– Andrea

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Decking the Halls + Waking to a Winter Wonderland”

  1. Trinity Says:

    Yay! Christmas! We went to a tree farm today and chopped down our own tree. It was AMAZING. It snowed here in Texas this week, too. What is going on??? Can’t wait to see what fun Christmas stuff you come up with once you’ve narrowed it down.

  2. Micco Says:

    HOW HAS IT SNOWED IN ALABAMA AND NOT OHIO YET?!?!I SDOUIFNSDOFINSDOFINSDFOSN!!!!

    /jealousy

    I normally hate Sandra Lee, but since I’m giving edible gifts this year, I am definitely going to check out that episode. Thanks for the ideas!

  3. C Says:

    Love your christmas ornaments. And I’m also very jealous of the snow 😉

  4. Mo Says:

    So freaking awesome! And I agree: sentimental trees all the way!

Leave a Reply

