Martha Stewart is Dead?

Thank goodness the title to this post isn’t true. I just woke up from a long nap, crying because I dreamed that Martha Stewart had died. And I kept crying after I woke up, because my dream made me feel like it had really happened and I was freaking out.

That is going to seem so pathetic to some people, but I don’t really care. I love Martha. And I know she’s not vegan or vegetarian, but she’s played a big part in helping me figure out how I want my life to be lived.

She taught me how to organize and helped teach me the basics of cooking. I don’t know where I would be without Martha. Probably lying dead in a ditch somewhere… Ok, that part probably isn’t true. But I sure would be in a big mess. And I mean that literally! I’ve always loved to organize, but if it weren’t for Martha, I would have never really leared how to organize.

And I’ve always loved holidays, but I don’t think I would have been as into them as I am now had I not recieved this magazine when I was 12 years old:

It seriously changed my life, and my view on holidays. It showed me that there was so much more one could do to celebrate Halloween than just carve a pumpkin and go trick-or-treating.

Since I recieved that magazine back in 2000, I’ve collected nearly every October issue of Martha Stewart Living, as well as the special Holiday issues. I even have extra copies of them, because if I ever see one in a thrift store, I just can’t leave it there.

Now, I know Martha doesn’t come up with all (or, really, any) of the ideas in her many magazines. But it’s all a part of her brand, and she chooses to include these fantastic ideas because she feels they’re up to her standards.

I really just admire her as a person, and as a business woman. I mean, just looks at all she’s done! She has books on cooking, decorating, crafting, homekeeping, entertaining, business, and more. She has a television show. She has goodness knows how many magazine titles. She also has a radio show, an arts and crafts retail line, and another home decorating line.

It’s just amazing, really. I would love to shadow her for a day just to see what a day in her life is like.

So.. Thanks for being awesome, Martha. I’m glad you’re not dead.

I’ll be posting pictures from the Halloween party later today. My camera died halfway through uploading the pictures, so I have to charge the battery :-\

– Andrea

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Martha Stewart is Dead?”

  1. wenmarcello Says:

    I collect the December issues of Bon Appetite! I used to save them all, but it was taking up too much room. Glad to see that someone else collects favorite months issues!

  2. Trinity Says:

    the title of this post scared me! that was very halloweenie of you. i understand your love for Martha… I am quite dedicated to her social opposite- Roseanne Barr. She may know nothing about homemaking, but Roseanne sure loves her Halloween.

Leave a Reply

