Halloween Party Prep

BUSY WEEK. And the next two days are just going to be even more busy. Decorating for the Halloween party started late last week. Here’s some of the progress:

My Very Vegan Halloween Vehicle : D

My Very Vegan Halloween Vehicle : D

This car breaks for hitchhiking ghosts! This is the back of my car, all decked out for the holidays. I mean, everything besides the severed hand is there all the time. But still. This is what I’ve been toting all my Halloween decorations in for the past week. Major cool points to anyone who knows what the lady with the parosol decal is from!

The party is at my sister’s house. These are the chairs that go to her kitchen table. Colorful plaid isn’t exactly spooky, so after I saw a quick clip from the Halloween Block Party show on HGTV, I bought some fabric and wrapped the seats up like mummies!

Mummy-wrapped chairs

 Up next is my boyfriend’s main project for the party:

Halloween Photo Stand-In

Halloween Photo Stand-In

I helped paint the grass! 😀 Seriously, though. This is such an awesome addition to a party. We bought some scrap wood from Home Depot for $4. Jon secured it with some 2x4s and other wood things. I think the cost only came to around $15-20.

Post-Mortem I.D. Tags

Post-Mortem I.D. Tags

These are the post-mortem I.D. tags I made for our costume contest trophies. Yay for Excel! The winner’s names will be penciled in during the contest.

I wanted something at the end of the driveway, to direct our guests to the house. I’ve always loved the scarecrow in Sleepy Hollow, so I made a small version of him:

This isn’t a finished photo. He now has two, hand-like twigs sticking out on either side. One hand will be pointing to the house.

The biggest thing someone like me could possibly do to prepare for a big party is to lay out the buffet table, assign serving dishes, and label where everything is going with post-it notes. So I’ve done that:

I’ve been terrified for the past two days that my sister’s cats are going to jump up there and destroy everything. This isn’t the finished look, by the way. I finished everything today, but you’ll have to wait until after the party to see the finished product. I sure am happy about how everything is coming together!

Here’s a photo of the lighting test I did a few nights ago:

And here’s a photo of the Bloody Mary bathroom I’ve put together:

I drew cracks on the mirror with eyeliner, and I wrote Bloody Mary backwards, three times, on the opposite mirror. It’s hardly noticable until someone goes to wash their hands and then they’ll see it in the mirror in front of them. There will also be a CD player under the sink, playing a lot of clips and scary music from last year’s Halloween Horror Nights website, which featured Bloody Mary.

And, last but not least, here are some of the treats I made today:

Peanut Brittle!

Pumpkin Spice Bat Cookies! These will have orange frosting, and I’m going to drizzle some chocolate over them.

And that’s all I have for now. I have a HUGE day in the kitchen tomorrow, making about 3/4 of all the food for the party. So I probably won’t get another chance to update about everything until Sunday or Monday.

Wish me luck! (More specifically, my feet.) 😀

– Andrea

Tags: , , , ,

15 Responses to “Halloween Party Prep”

  1. Mo Says:

    You are a goddess! This is amazing stuff.

  2. Brittany Says:

    peanut brittle.. don’t even get me started!

  3. Quick Thursday Night Roundup 10/22 « Vegan MoFo Headquarters International Says:

    […] Andrea from Very Vegan Holiday is getting ready for a huge party.  She’s got some great ideas in tune with the holiday […]

  4. Jeni Treehugger Says:

    Super super stuff!
    I didn’t find any cute Halloween cookie cutters boo hoo hoo!
    Which recipe did you use for your peanut brittle?

    • Andrea Says:

      It’s a recipe I found in the comments on a post in the vegancooking community on LiveJournal. Everyone loves it! I’ll post the recipe soon.

  5. Lizzie Says:

    You are seriously amazing. There are no words. I am far too lazy to pull something like this off, so I need to make friends with someone like you who will invite me to an awesome shindig like this!

    • Andrea Says:

      Well, if you’re ever in the central Alabama area during the end of October, you’re more than welcome to drop on in! : D

  6. Trinity Says:

    WOW i wish i could go to your party! i’m getting a house at the beginning of November, so I have a YEAR to wait to throw first big Halloween bash. Next year I’m definitely coming to you for tips and inspiration.

  7. Megan Says:

    I don’t think I have ever had peanut brittle. When you have the chance, I’d love a recipe!

  8. Megan Says:

    Saw your comment and figured you would have a better chance seeing it here than back at my blog!

    Yeah, my Whole Foods sells it in little plastic containers. They’re like the containers you would get bulk peanut butter with. It’s $9.99lb and they sell them in containers that are like $2-3 each and the container makes surprisingly a lot! I can make like 4 mediumish pizzas with one container. 😀

    Hopefully you’ll be able to get it!

  9. Gerry Weber Says:

    thanx for your tips..really excellent

Leave a Reply

