I Ate a Rat! – A Gardein Product Review

Today I went grocery shopping at my local Publix (which is where I usually do my grocery shopping..). My sister had let me know that they were now stocking gardein products (it really bugs me that they don’t capitalize their brand name..), so I went to see what they had. They didn’t have any of the refrigerated products, but they did have all of their frozen products!

I had no idea what I was going to have for dinner tonight, or what I was going to post about tonight. But I found it. There, in the freezer section of my local Publix, sat this bag of beauty:

I don’t do impulse buys like this too often, but this looked too amazing to pass up. I couldn’t help it! And look at the pretty, shiney “new” letters! How cute! You get two of these awesome “stuffers” for $3.99. $3.99 is a high price to me when I’m buying groceries. It would take a lot for me to say something at that price is worth it.

These are so worth it.

I knew I couldn’t (well.. shouldn’t) post about these unless they were holiday/themed food-related.. So, while I had my stuffer in the toaster oven, I grabbed a bunch of edible items to make my stuffer looks like a little rat.

My little rat (I named him Ratty, because I'm creative).

I used a quartered cherry tomato for his feet, black peppercorns for his eyes and nose, pieces of fresh rosemary for his whiskers, two almonds for his ears, and a sliver of carrot for his tail.

But, of course, I couldn’t eat him like that. Imagine cutting into poor Ratty and seeing all his guts spill out! How horrible!

Rattys internal organs.

Ratty's internal organs.

So, I deconstucted him before consuming. But do you see that?! Look how insanely delicious that looks! The chick’n “stuffers” are filled with marinara sauce and vegan daiya cheese. And, let me tell you, THESE ARE FREAKIN’ AMAZING! The cheese stayed gooey and melty long after I removed the stuffer from the oven.

These are seriously insane. I could eat them every night of the week and not get sick of them. And that is definitely not the case for most faux meats. While I like my occasional veggie burger or breaded chick’n patty, they’re not something that really scream “entree” to me. These stuffers, however, are. I would totally serve these to omnis if the chance ever arose (and I didn’t feel like cooking).

I thought of another fun way to make these Halloween-y after I finished eating. Next time, I think I’ll bake them and then cover them with marinara sauce. That way they would look like bloody human hearts! 😀 Weeee! Cannibalism!

___________________________________________________

I swear, if I don’t make my candy and caramel apple post tomorrow, I’m going to.. do something not cool! Like not post about candy and caramel apples!

THIS MUST GET DONE TOMORROW!

Luckily I found my peanuts today. So I probably will be posting about candy and caramel apples tomorrow. And tiny ones, at that!

– Andrea

Tags: , , , ,

18 Responses to “I Ate a Rat! – A Gardein Product Review”

  1. Megan Says:

    WOAH. I love gardein stuff. It is a little expensive, but so worth it.

    I had no idea those had Daiya cheese in them!! I can’t find any of the frozen gardein stuff, though. 😦 I want to try the buffalo wings.

  2. veganchubosaurus Says:

    Oh my GOSH, those look incredible! I am SO glad that you posted about them! Must find them now.

  3. Mo Says:

    That rat is so darn cute!

  4. What do MoFo’ers get up to on a Friday? « Vegan MoFo Headquarters International Says:

    […] They shape their food into rodents and give them names […]

  5. Mandee Says:

    I giggled when I saw Ratty so much that I had to show my bf and he laughed as well. Ratty is so cute and what he’s made from looks delish. I wish we had vegan products like that avail. here!

  6. Jojo Says:

    Wow not only does that look delicious but the little rat is damn cute! Wish we could get these in the UK.

  7. Jenn Says:

    Love Ratty! I’ve seen the gardein, but have yet to try it. Thanks for the review!

  8. quarrygirl Says:

    RATTY! what a great idea! i would have watched his guts spill out though…hehehehe. it’s halloween, afterall!

  9. Tofu Mom Says:

    LOVE LOVE Gardein products (with a capital “G” because seriously stuff this good should have a proper name!).

    And so glad I stumbled across your blog! I love it!!!!

  10. Rose Says:

    Very creative!! Little Ratty is adorable.

  11. veganf Says:

    Excellent!!!

  12. Bonnie Says:

    That looks so good! I would love to try it…
    And I like the way you dressed it up as a rat. My mother used to do that with pears or ice cream for dessert, but those didn’t have the nice lifelike guts-spilling-out effect your chick’n good stuff seems to have.
    I bet it’s delicious covered in tomato sauce.

  13. shannonmarie Says:

    That is too cute. A little gruesome on the inside, but my son loved it.

  14. Bloody Human Heart (More Gardein Halloween!) « Very Vegan Holiday Says:

    […] Human Heart (More Gardein Halloween!) By Andrea So, I said in my post about Ratty that I had thought of another spooky/fun way to serve the Gardein Marinara Chick’n Good […]

  15. Nora Says:

    how precious!

  16. Jessica Says:

    Like you, I’m not big on faux meat products – but these look fantastic! I just bought “The Conscious Cook,” and some of the recipes in that book call for Gardein, and I was a little nervous. I’m really excited to try them now!

    I’m super glad I found your review on Gardein, too, because I was wondering if they’d be passable for omnis… I think I’ll try serving a Gardein recipe to an omni friend this weekend. I hope it goes over well!

  17. Nan Says:

    Thank you for giving us your review and pictures. I’m going to get these on my next shopping trip. I also tried Tofurky oven roasted deli slices. They are so good on bread with a few Claussen pickles. After trying Tofurky I will never go back to lunch meat again. Keep up the good work.
    Take care,
    Nan

  18. Nan Says:

    Well we tried all 3 products the Marinara Chick’n good stuff, home style beefless tips and lightly seasoned chick’n scallopini and they were horrible. We couldn’t even finish eating them. We had to throw the rest away.

Leave a Reply

