Hush.. Hush, Sweet Puppies

Get it? ‘Cause.. you know.. the movie..

Ok, fine. Am I the only one who has seen the movie Hush… Hush, Sweet Charlotte? Because no one seems to get the reference and it makes me sad.

Oh well. I still think a good, Halloween name for hush puppies is Hush.. Hush, Sweet Puppies. 😀

The southerner in me also thinks hush puppies would make an awesome little bite-sized snack for a Halloween party, especially if they had cute Halloween-themed party picks stuck in them.

I originally planned on having them at mine, but I’ve tweaked my menu a bit and won’t be including them. I used the recipe out of Hot Damn and Hell Yeah (which is well worth the $6 price tag, btw) to make these little guys. I made a dipping sauce out of ketchup, Vegenaise, and cajun seasoning. Cocktail sauce is also a good sauce for hush puppies.

Hush Puppies

1 cup cornmeal
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 egg substitutes
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup soymilk mixed with 2 tsp lemon juice
1/4 cup parsely, finely chopped
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/8 tsp black pepper
1/8 tsp chili powder

In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients and blend well. Add the remaining ingredients one at a time, mixing well after each addition.

Form the mixture into spoon-sized balls and deep fry in oil until golden brown.

My alterations: I added chopped green onion, and shallow-fried them in a skillet.

– Andrea

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Hush.. Hush, Sweet Puppies”

  1. Micco Says:

    Do you think these could be baked?

    • Andrea Says:

      Ohh, I wish! That would make them a lot healthier. But I believe hush puppies are one of those things that just have to be fried. If baked, they would basically just be cornbread.

  2. Lizzie Says:

    Just so you don’t feel alone, I got the reference! I actually almost ordered it the other day…

    My whole life is pretty much making references that I love and no one getting them. :p

  3. Mandee Says:

    Ooh yes! These look great 🙂

Leave a Reply

