Vegan Halloween Candy (part 2)

(Sorry for the bad picture.. its from a few years ago.)

(Sorry for the bad picture.. it's from a few years ago.)

Most vegans already know what candy is available to them during this spooky time of year. But I thought I’d post a list, anyway, and highlight some of my personal favorites (in bold):

Airheads taffy
Atkins peanut butter bars (Really? Who is going to give these out on Halloween?)
Blow Pops
Charms lollipops
Chick-o-Sticks (They’re like Butterfingers, without the chocolate!)
Cracker Jack
Cry Babies
Dem Bones
Dots
Dum-Dums
Fireballs
Goldenberg’s Peanut Chews
Hot Tamales
Hubba Bubba bubblegum
Jolly Ranchers (lollipops and hard candy)
Jujubees
Jujyfruits
Laffy Taffy

Lemonheads
Mambas
Mary Janes (regular and peanut butter kisses)
Mike and Ike
Now and Later
Pez
Ring Pop lollipops
Skittles

Smarties
Sour Patch Kids
Starburst (jelly beans and hard candy)
Super Bubble
Swedish Fish
Sweet Tarts
Tropical Source mini chocolate bags
Twizzlers
Zotz

If you don’t like any of those, check out this website: NaturalCandyStore.com

Last year's candy bowl!

 If you don’t want to hand out candy, you can always hand out little toys or games. Personally, I think a mixture of both is awesome. I’ve accumulated quite a few spider rings and spooky stickers in my 21 years on this earth. I will never use these items. So I just mix them into the candy every year to give to the trick-or-treaters. Somehow, the amount of useless Halloween objects I own never gets any smaller.. Perhaps it’s because we only get 10-15 trick-or-treaters at our house.

If you’d like to go the salty route on Halloween, you can also hand out mini bags of pretzels, nuts, or popcorn. ACT II sells individually wrapped popcorn balls nowadays, and they’re also vegan.

Vegan Popcorn Balls

If you live in a neighborhood where giving out homemade treats is acceptable, I encourage you to do so! Not only would it be cheaper, it would be healthier! And not everyone has that priviledge. So, if you do, you should take advantage of it. I have a feeling if I handed out homemade treats, they would get thrown away. So I just don’t bother.

Another treat that is only acceptable in a neighborhood where everyone knows each other is fresh fruit. I would love to be able to give out fresh fruit on Halloween. It would be just like the old days.. That, you know, I never experienced.. But still! Can’t you just imagine how cute the kids back in the ’50s were when they would come home with a sack full of apples, oranges, and pennies?!

And, yeah, you can give out coins if you’re into that kind of thing.

One thing I would discourage any vegan to hand out on Halloween is political flyers/stickers. Halloween is a night of fun and frolic for children. It shouldn’t be interupted by you telling the kids all their other Halloween candy contains ground up cow bones or beetles.  I guess if you’re looking to scare them, that’s fine. But there are nicer ways to get them to only eat vegan candy. 😀 Like, you know.. bribing them with money.

I think I’m done with talking about pre-made candy for the rest of the year.. I really just needed something easy to post about tonight. I’ll post about real food again soon, I promise!

– Andrea

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “Vegan Halloween Candy (part 2)”

  1. Kev Says:

    one more thing to add to the list–Skittles are now vegan! check
    the package before purchasing just in case it’s from their old stock. However, all newer packages of skittles, of any flavor, are vegan now. Rejoice!!

  2. Mo Says:

    Thanks for posting that link the Natural Candy Store. Vegan Turkish delight? Crazy!

    My faves on the list are Mambas and Twizzlers.

    • Andrea Says:

      You’re welcome! There are a lot of awesome candies on there.

      I’m not a big fan of licorice, but I love the Twizzlers pull-n-peel 😀 hehe.

  3. Kristyn Says:

    Hello! I have a comment about the Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses. It says in the ingredients that they contain mono-and diglycerides which are made from animal fat, so technically speaking those PB kisses aren’t even vegetarian.

  4. Kristyn Says:

    Oh! Learn new things everyday! I recently read about mono-diglycerides being animal based and I was having a hard time finding anything to the contrary. Thanks for the web addresses.

Leave a Reply

