Celebrating the Trick ‘R Treat DVD Release

Poison, drowning, claw, or knife.. So many ways to take a life.
Trick R Treat Blu-Ray + Candy Corn Lollipop from the BF

Trick 'R Treat Blu-Ray + Candy Corn Lollipop from the BF

Being the huge Halloween fan that I am, I had been waiting for Trick ‘R Treat to come out since early 2007. The wait ended on Tuesday.

While a theatrical release two years prior would have been preferred, actually owning the movie makes me incredibly happy. Needless to say, Trick ‘R Treat was well worth the wait, and I’ve already watched it twice! I meant to do this the first time I watched the movie, but it wasn’t possible. So this is what I did to watch the movie the second time around:

Never blow out a jack-o-lantern before midnight.

Never blow out a jack-o-lantern before midnight.

In fact, I love the movie so much, I made Trick ‘R Treat-themed cookies tonight! Ladies and gentlemen.. Meet Sam:

These are pumpkin spice cookies, with Sam’s face drawn on with edible marker.

And Sam can’t leave home on Halloween without his trusty (and not to mention deadly) lollipop. So, here we have Sam’s Lollipop Cookies!

Same cookies, but with icing and a lollipop stick that was stuck in right after the cookies were removed from the oven.

I love my Trick ‘R Treat cookies. I still haven’t eaten one yet, because I just can’t stand to eat Sam’s cute little face. I’m sure I will eventually, but for now he is safe.

I can’t recall exactly where I got the original recipe, but here is my version:

Pumpkin Spice Cookies

1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup of softened margarine
1 “egg”
1 tsp vanilla
3 TBSP pureed pumpkin
2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp freshly grated nutmeg
1/8 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray baking sheets with cooking spray.

Cream together margarine and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add egg, vanilla, and pumpkin. Blend well.

Sift together the remaining dry ingredients and slowly stir them into the sugar mixture until everything is combined.

On a floured (or powder sugar-ed) surface, roll out the dough to a 1/4″ thickness. (I rolled mine out on wax paper and refrigerated it for about 10-15 minutes. It was easier to deal with that way.)  Cut into shapes as desired with floured cookie cutters and bake for 12-15 minutes, until golden brown.

Cool on wire rack and decorate if desired.

_________________________________________

The cookies were dipped in orange icing, and the black icing face was piped on. The icing I used is the Royal Icing recipe in The Joy of Vegan Baking:

1 1/2 tsp Ener-G Egg replacer
2 TBSP water
1 tsp lemon juice
1/4 tsp almond extract (didn’t use)
1 1/2 C confectioner’s sugar, sifted
Food coloring

In a medium-size bowl, using an electric hand mixer, beat the egg replacer mixture with the lemon juice and almond extract, if using. Add the sifted  confectioner’s sugar and beat on low speed until combined and smooth. Add food coloring, if using.

_________________________________________

And there you have it! My special little way of celebrating the DVD release of my new favorite Halloween movie, Trick ‘R Treat. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, or don’t plan to get it (shame on you!), you should at least watch the short film that it was based on:

Season’s Greetings by Michael Dougherty:

The rules of Halloween:
1. Wear a costume.
2. Hand out treats.
3. Never blow out a jack o’ lantern.
4. And ALWAYS check your candy.

Happy October 8th!

– Andrea

Tags: , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Celebrating the Trick ‘R Treat DVD Release”

  1. Mo Says:

    Those Sam cookies are cute!

  2. Megan Says:

    AMAZING. I have a really tiny pumpkin and I want to carve Sam’s lollipop into it. I wanted to actually “sculpt” Sam’s REAL face into it, but I decided I would probably fail and ruin my cute itty bitty pumpkin. 😦

    I love how you put Jack-o-Lanterns everywhere. I want to come over and have a Trick ‘r Treat party with you!! 😀

    • Andrea Says:

      There is no way I could carve something that awesome. haha. I’m not too talented of a carver. Of course, I’ve never really tried.. I much prefer the simple triangle face jack-o-lanterns to the fancy, patterned ones 😀

      I would love to have a Trick ‘R Treat party with you! That would be so much fun!

  3. jeni treehugger Says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the cookies and lollipop thingies.
    🙂

  4. Lizzie Says:

    This entry almost made me pee for the following reasons:

    1. I too have been waiting forever for Trick ‘r Treat to come out. I didn’t know it finally had. Woo!

    2. So many jack o’lanterns!

    3. Cookies, edible marker, oh my!!

    • Andrea Says:

      Yay! Go get your copy! If you really love Halloween and it’s history and traditions, this movie is absolutely *amazing*! So much fun.

  5. TC Says:

    I love this!

  6. Falaria Says:

    Great post Andrea! Thanks for sharing your wonderfully decorated living room and the recipes. Will have to give those ‘Sam’ cookies a try next week! 🙂 I am inspired. As for the movie ~ haven’t any luck finding it yet. Sold out, never heard of it are the top two answers I’ve gotten. Been waiting, like you and was able to see it at a friends. This is one I want to buy for myself and a few other copies for friends/family as x-mas gifts. So I guess there’s still time to find and purchase it. Thanks again for your post and from one Halloween fan to the others reading…

    Happy Halloween ’09!! :o}

    • Andrea Says:

      Thank you!

      I really hope you find the movie soon. I had to go to two Best Buys to find the blu-ray. And then my stupid blu-ray player wouldn’t work, so I had to go to Wal-mart to pick up the DVD. It was a hectic night, but I finished the movie at exactly midnight, so I felt accomplished! haha.

      Happy Halloween! 😀

Leave a Reply

