She’s here, she’s here!

Happy, happy Autumn, everyone!

I’ve had a great day. This morning I woke up to some awesome movie music playing on Cinemagic. Then I went outside where THE SUN WAS SHINING and there was a light, cool breeze. It’s been raining for the past week, so this was amazing.

After that, I ventured out to run some errands. While I was out, I found candy corn-flavored DOTS! And DOTS are vegan! And this is amazing! I’ll share more about those tomorrow.

When I got home, I started putting out some Halloween decorations. I didn’t get close to finishing, but I thought I’d save some for the rest of the week.

After decorating, I started watching the second season of Buffy the Vampire Slayer while I waited for a loaf of Cranberry Pumpkin Bread to come out of the oven.

Cranberry Pumpkin Bread

Cranberry Pumpkin Bread

I modified this recipe from the Pumpkin Bread recipe found in Hot Damn and Hell Yeah. By the way, the picture above is what it looks like if you half the recipe. I only had 1 C canned pumpkin, and I didn’t want to open another can :-\

2 C canned pumpkin
1/4 C applesauce
2 egg substitutes (I used Ener-G egg replacer)
1 C sugar
2 C flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 C dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 350. Spray a loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray and lightly coat with flour.

In a large bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, applesauce, egg substitute, and sugar. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and spices. Add the flour mixture into the pumpkin mixture and stir until just combined. Fold in the cranberries and pour batter into prepared loaf pan. Bake for 50 minutes, or until a knife (or toothpick) inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.

_______________________________________

The bread is now out of the oven. Some of it is being digested inside my stomach. And I have a beautiful, handsome, cat prince in my lap. What a beautiful day!

Happy Autumn!

– Andrea

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “She’s here, she’s here!”

  1. Megan Says:

    Last year on the first day of Autumn, I made pumpkin cranberry muffins!! Yay! I also halved a pumpkin bread recipe once, and it looked JUST like yours!

    I didn’t make anything pumpkiny today because I didn’t think I had any, but then I looked in the pantry while I was making dinner, and there WAS a can. 😦 Maybe tomorrow.

    I LOVE DOTS! I’ll have to look for those. I don’t eat high fructose corn syrup except for on Halloween and when I go to Disneyland, because it’s too hard to avoid there. And who doesn’t want candy on Halloween? 😀

    • Andrea Says:

      Haha. Maybe we need smaller loaf pans! I’m sorry you didn’t get to make anything pumpkin-y last week. Make something today to celebrate October! 😀

  2. Jenna Says:

    MMMMMMMMMMmmmmmm! I can’t wait to try this! It looks soooo delicious!

  3. Lacey Says:

    mmmm looks and sounds delicious. i adore all things pumpkin.

Leave a Reply

