Mini Halloween-Themed Pies

I had some of the new Nasoya Silken Creations (chocolate) sitting around, and I decided to make mini pies with it.
Halloween Pies!

Halloween Pies!

I used the recipe on the back of the container:

Chocolate Silk Pie

1 pkg Nasoya® Dark Chocolate Silken Style Creations
2 T Corn Starch
1 Prepared 9-inch graham cracker pie crust
2 T Water
1 Bar of dark chocolate, shaved (optional)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Mix the water and corn starch into a medium bowl. Blend the Nasoya® Dark Chocolate Silken Style Creations into the bowl. Pour the mixture into a graham cracker crust and bake for 45 minutes. Cool at room temperature for 30 minutes, and in refrigerator uncovered for 2 hours or until cooled completely. Sprinkle chocolate shaving on top.

__________________________________

I used six mini pie crusts instead of the one 9-inch. There was some filling left over, so I just ate it. 😀 I also cut the baking time down about 15 minutes, so the pies were only in the oven about 30 minutes.

I had already eaten two of the pies before today, so for my first themed pie, I made a graveyard pie!

R.I.Pie!

Rest In Pies!

 I filled the sunken, chocolate, mini-pie with a mixture of melted chocolate and vegan whipped cream (Soy Whip). Then I added some crumbled chocolate wafer cookies and found the letters “R”, “I”, and “P” out of a bag of Newman’s Own Chocolate Alphabet Cookies.

For my second batch of pies, I knew it would be impossible to find more of the same letters out of that tiny little bag of alphabet cookies, so I decided to stretch the message out into three pies:

Boo Pies!

Boo Pies!

I filled these pies with whipped cream, and smoothed them out. I let them sit in the freezer while I melted some vegan white chocolate chips. I added some orange gel coloring after they melted and put that in a plastic bag to pipe onto the pies. After I piped on the orange chocolate, I added the message “BOO” to my cute little Halloween pies!

I think these would be really fun for a small kid’s party, or a small dinner party.

Only 50 days until Halloween!

– Andrea

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Mini Halloween-Themed Pies”

  1. Megan Says:

    WAY too cute. You are amazing. I need to get on my Halloween food making. D:

    I haven’t gotten anything done for the big day. I haven’t even decided on a costume!

    (This is Megan from Livejournal, by the way…)

  2. Alyssa Says:

    Those are super cute and yummy-looking! 🙂 I LOVE chocolate silk pie and this is a great Halloweeny twist on it.

    This is primeveire from LJ, by the way. I found your blog via twitter. 🙂

  3. Nora Says:

    rest in pies! haahahah

  4. Pop’s Pies « Just Jan Says:

    […] found a fun Halloween pie recipe here.  Which in turn gave me a pie idea (this is still in theory but I’m planning to try it out […]

Leave a Reply

