Your Future is Filled with Orange and Black

Yesterday I went a little batty while shopping online. (Pun intended!)

While I already have a bat-shaped cookie cutter or two, I didn’t have the size and shape I wanted. So I found one on eBay I liked, and bought it. I have some fun little treats in mind that I want to use it for, so I’ll be making those as soon as the cutter comes in!

I also purchased a stick of solid perfume with a scent entitled “Autumn Gypsy” on etsy.com. The scent is described as “An intoxicating blend of myrrh, sweet orange and warm spices with a background of toasty vanilla inspiring both mystery and warmth.” Oh, how could I resist? I want to smell like that all October!

Gypsy Witch Fortune Telling Playing Cards

Gypsy Witch Fortune Telling Playing Cards

And, speaking of gypsies, I also bought two Gypsy Witch fortune-telling card decks on eBay. I’m excited to get them – I think they’d be great fun for Halloween parties!

I’ll be sure to post pictures, reviews, and links as soon as everything comes in the mail.

My birthday was earlier this month, and my sister gave me an Amazon.com gift card. I decided to use it to buy some books I had been wanting, and Halloween Merrymaking was one of them:

Halloween Merrymaking

Halloween Merrymaking

 The book is worth it for the pictures alone, but my favorite parts are the recipes, menus, divination games, and party invitation poems! I think I may come up with my own vintage Halloween menu this year. Something filled with nuts, dried fruits, apples, and other party foods of Halloween’s “Golden Age”, as the book calls the late 1800s and early 1900s. Should be fun 😀

The Halloween season is drawing near, and I can already smell the cool autumn air and the burning jack-o-lanterns.

I have a lot of fun ideas for Halloween this year, so stay tuned!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

