Dia de los Muertos festival- Vegan foods!

Me and my boyfriend went to the Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) festival in downtown Birmingham tonight. It was a lot of fun, but I was starving by the time we got there. I put my make-up on two hours before we left, and I could barely open my mouth to eat. So I was really hoping there would be something I could eat at the festival.

Lucky me! A local restaurant/music venue that serves a good bit of vegan/vegetarian food was one of the vendors!

Bottletree Cafe

They were serving their award-winning vegan chili, along with rice and tortilla chips.

The only “fixin’s” available for vegans were raw onions and hot sauce. I added a bit too much, but I still enjoyed it and it kept me full! Not exactly a traditional Day of the Dead meal, but it fit in just fine. Non-vegan items available included tamales and tacos.

Me and my chili! : D

 

For some reason, there weren’t as many altars as there were last year. But I absolutely *love* altars that include food.  For Day of the Dead, you’re supposed to set up altars in remembrance of lost loved ones. You can include anything you want – pictures, clothing, trinkets, and favorite foods and drinks of the deceased. I think it’s so beautiful when food is included – especially pan de muerto and sugar skulls. They’re all just done so colorfully and creative. There was one adorable altar for a beautiful black cat that included cat food, water, and toys. Aw <3

I was too busy packing up my Halloween decorations and getting ready for the festival to make my own Day of the Dead food today. But I’ll be doing that tomorrow. I’m making a Mexican spice cake, black bean soup, and jalapeno cornbread!

Viva la vida!

- Andrea

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Dia de los Muertos festival- Vegan foods!”

  1. Brittany Says:

    Your make up job looks really good! I wish I had done some sort of celebration for day of the dead… Feels like people in Canada don’t even know what that is. Such an amazing celebration. Your pictures are great the skulls are so photogenic.

    • Andrea Says:

      Thank you! I just found out about the festival two years ago, and I went for the first time last year. They’ve been doing it in my city for ten years now, and it just keeps getting bigger. Hopefully Dia de los Muertos celebrations will move further north in the future! It’s such a beautiful holiday.

  2. Jojo Says:

    That looks awesome & your make up’s amazing. We don’t celebrate day of the dead over here but I wish we did.

  3. Mo Says:

    That festival looked like fun! I love your makeup!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

