Halloween is Approaching!

Whether you like it or not, Halloween is approaching! There’s only 72 more days until the most spirited night of the year, and those days are going to fly by.

I’ve already done quite a bit of planning so far. I have my Halloween party theme: Ghosts of Halloweens Past. It’s based around childhood memories of Halloween. I have some fun ideas so far, that I’ll set aside a post for specifically later. But one idea I’m pretty excited about is the favors I’ll be making! I just purchased 48 of these (only $15!), that I’ll be altering:

Halloween Paddle Balls

I’ll be painting over the skull and crossbones, then turning the ball into an eyeball :) It’s nostalgic, right? I’m sure it’ll bring back some good childhood memories for everyone.

I’ve also started planning my costume. Well, I’m actually done planning it. I just need to find the materials. Don’t laugh, I can’t draw..

Madame Leota from The Haunted Mansion

The lovely Madame Leota from the Haunted Mansion.

I think I’ll be fine finding everything except that stupid ball to put around my head. The only thing I can possibly think of that would work is if I purchased one of those Halloween Spirit Balls with the floating heads inside of them.. and then removed the globe portion of it and used that. But apparently they don’t make those anymore and they’re EXPENSIVE on Ebay. I’ll probably just break down and buy one eventually. It’ll be the most expensive part of the costume, that’s for sure. But I’m really excited about it.

Madame Leota is a hottie.

For the table, I plan on using foam board cut into a circle. I’ll use a battery-powered flicker candle and glue a bell and some tarot cards to the table. Fabric should be easy to find. Then I plan on having something underneath the table that plays Madame Leota’s seance spiel and the background music from the Haunted Mansion. Probably my boyfriend’s Ipod and some portable speakers.

Last weekend was my first dose of spooky fun: I went to go see an Alfred Hitchcock double feature with The Birds and Psycho. I decided to dress up as Melanie Daniels, being attacked by birds.

Melanie Daniels from The Birds

Costume was made for under $20, and I did add a little bit of blood before I left for the movie. People seemed to get a kick out of it.

Since I don’t have any food to share at the moment, I’ll share some food-related holiday purchases I’ve made this week.

Pumpkin Sundae Spoons and Vintage-y Spreaders

For whenever I decide to make Halloween-themed ice cream, or have a Vintage Halloween theme.

Halloween cookie jars/canisters!

Because they’re adorable.

Halloween cocktail umbrellas

For whenever I decide to have a Halloween mocktail party.

Orange Ice Cream Dishes

I just thought these would look cute for dips on my Halloween buffet.

Don’t tell anyone.. But I’ve already started planning my food for Christmas. *Blushes*

Say it with me: HOORAY! Summer is almost over!

- Andrea

7 Responses to “Halloween is Approaching!”

  1. Sarahfae Says:

    oohmygosh! I wish I could come to your party!!

  2. Lizzie Says:

    I love the cookie jars! Where did you score those?

    • Andrea Says:

      Home Goods! I went to two different ones, and they had some amazing Halloween kitchen items. There were a lot of things that matched my cookie jars, like platters, plates, bowls, mugs.. Just so many cute things.

  3. flora Says:

    Hello, I found your blog while browsing for Halloween items and came upon the halloween cocktail drink parasols, can you PLEASE tell me where you purchased them? Thanks so much!!!
    blessings,Flora

  4. cadryskitchen Says:

    The Madame Leota costume is SUCH a good idea! I hope you post pictures!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

