A Very Vegan Thanksgiving, 2009

Happy Tofurky Day, everyone!

Me and my boyfriend had our vegan Thanksgiving yesterday. Yesterday also happened to be his 21st birthday, but we had his party this past Saturday. I’ll post more about that soon :)

Thanksgiving is a holiday where I don’t like to change much, in terms of food. It’s the only time of the year I eat most of the items on the menu, and I like to keep it that way because it makes the food more special. I think next year I may want to change up the main course. I don’t mean forgoing the traditional Tofurky roast. I just mean adding a new bird-substitute to the table. Maybe stuffed acorn squash, or a seitan roast with stuffing.

But the planning for next year can wait until then. This is what we had for 2009:

 Tofurky and Gravy
Mashed Sweet Potatoes
Green Bean Casserole
Macaroni and Cheese
Roasted Brussels Sprouts
Cornbread Dressing
Homemade Cranberry Sauce
Buttermilk Drop Biscuits
Pumpkin Pie Trifle
Apple Cider

I used the soy sauce/olive oil/ sage baste from the Tofurky box and followed the package instructions for the non-bird. For the gravy, I made a roux and added no-chicken broth, soy sauce, sage, poultry seasoning, and freshly cracked black pepper.

The sweet potatoes were baked for nearly two hours, until soft. Then I took the skins off, mashed them, and added white and brown sugar, margarine, and apple cider.

For the green bean casserole, I used this recipe, and it is amazing. We’ve had it the past few years.

I roasted the brussels sprouts with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

The cornbread dressing has no real measurements, just ingredients scribbled down by my mom of what was in my maw maw’s dressing. It’s basically a loaf of cornbread, two cans vegetable broth, chopped celery and green onion, sage, poultry seasoning, garlic salt, and pepper. Then I put a few bits of margarine on top and baked it at 350 until the top was golden brown.

For the cranberry sauce, I just use the directions on the bag of cranberries. I usually add more sugar than called for, and I also added a splash of orange juice.

The biscuits were a bit dry, so I won’t post those right now.

The pumpkin pie trifle was graham crackers, pumpkin puree + vanilla pudding (from a vegan boxed mix + soymilk) + pumpkin pie spice + cinnamon, and Soyatoo Soy Whip. It was sooo good. But the single mini trifles are enough for two, so we just shared one and saved one for later :-D

And that was my Thanksgiving! I hope everyone else had wonderful food and good company.

What did you have on the table? What would you change for next year?

If anyone is getting out shopping tomorrow, be safe!

Also, this is hilarious: Defensive Omnivore Bingo Card! I’m sure many vegans and vegetarians throughout the country would have been yelling “Bingo!” today if they had known about this. :)

- Andrea

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “A Very Vegan Thanksgiving, 2009”

  1. C Says:

    That trifle looks amazing!!

    And I’ve already seen the vegan bingo card, it is so funny! I wonder how people would react if you actually pull out your bingo card and say “hmm.. let me see…, yeah, bingo!” :-))))

  2. Mo Says:

    Sounds delicious and that trifle looks AMAZING!

  3. Sarahfae Says:

    oh i am SO going to play around with a raw pumpkin trifle! you ROCK!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

